This was McIntyres first contact with civilization after he fled the events @
Stringybark creek. According to a Mr. Ken Tidball, the homestead is no longer
standing! It was there a year ago and is a sad loss if true. It stood just out
of Mansfield on the Whitfield Rd. near McLeods Lane.
This building, diagonally opposite the Police monument was built in 1879. If the
Kellys were to give themselves up in November 1878, this was the place
allocated. It didn’t happen.
Near Tolmie, this property was owned by a distant relative of Joe. A visit here
by Ned and/or Joe would have been highly probable during the days @ Bullock
creek. It would have been near here Ned came across the police tracks. From
Mansfield, the site, known as “Wattlegrove” is just before entrance to
Tolmie on the left past showgrounds.
On the corner of Ryley and Ford St, Neds sister, Annie married Alex Gunn here in
1869- the year the church was completed. It was also the site of Steve Harts
of the HART HOMESTEAD-
This is the place where Steve Hart spent his brief childhood. Head toward the
Wangaratta racecourse on the Williams-Lindner Rd.(for 1.2 kms) Turn left @ Reith
Rd. Travel for 1.7 kms. This will put you in vicinity. A large fig tree near the
site is one of the supposed burial places for Steve. Refer to “Graves”
section for further information.
MILE CREEK BRIDGE-
After the futile flight north after Stringybark creek, the Kelly gang were seen
here @ Wangaratta on the way back to familiar turf. These were the days the gang
came closest to capture. Bridge exists today and would have been well known to
Although no longer standing in High St, this was the probable location of the 20
round, bare knuckle epic between Ned Kelly and Isiah “Wild” Wright in 1874.
Although Wright was taller and heavier, Ned was victorious. Publican Edward
Rogers was known for staging legitimate sporting activities on his property and
perhaps an illegal one or two. Ned won Isiahs respect that day and they were
close allies from then on.
BURNING TOWERS- The
Chinese section in the Beechworth cemetery is extensive and contains the Burning
Towers. They remind us North-Eastern Victoria had a substantial Chinese
population in the Kelly days. They came to be tolerated in Beechworth but prior,
there was turmoil which came to a head @ the Buckland riots. Neds first court
appearance involved an incident with a Chinaman. Joe Byrne also felt their
influence and was a regular smoker of opium. Angeline Baron claims Joe wrote
part of the Jerilderie letter under the influence. Ned came to respect the
Chinese toward the end. “If I had a pig-tail, I’d go home to China. One
Chinaman is worth all the bloody Europeans living.”
CELL-BEECHWORTH TOWN HALL-
2 cells exist under the old town hall in Ford St. Reputedly, Ned had a short
stay in one of them in 1870. It is an assumed claim but the cells themselves are
genuine and worth a visit.
VINE HOTEL- WANGARATTA-
Built in 1868, it was destroyed by fire in 1887 and again in 1895. Some original
brickwork can still be seen. Huge cellars run underneath hotel with a connecting
tunnel outside. Of course, Ned reputedly used it often to come and go unseen
(!). Hotel is still licensed. From Wangaratta, head toward Albury for 2 kms and
turn right on the Eldorado Rd. Look 50 metres on left.
Foundation stone was laid in 1856 with additions in 1858, 1861 and 1864. It
ceased functioning in 1940. A Chinaman, Ah On, was admitted here in March 1877
after an altercation with Joe Byrne and Aaron Sherritt. In 1879, Detective
Micheal Ward, Joe Byrnes nemesis, spent time here with broken ribs and an
injured foot after falling into a 9 foot pit. Aaron Sherritt visited Ward here
and they continued the charade begun @ the “Charge of Sebastopol” in the
Woolshed Valley. The remains of the hospital can be found in Church St,
Many of the Kelly story players lay @ rest here. Daniel “Mad Dan” Morgans
headless body is here with a relatively new information board over his grave.
The dirty old Toilet block has thankfully, since been demolished. His grave,
after all, is a tourist attraction. Arthur Steele is here, as are Jack and Anne
Jones, both victims of the Siege of Glenrowan. Refer to “Graves” section for
SHERRITTS HUT- The
remains of Aarons fathers place was the first piece of ground to receive “The
Charge of Sebastopol.” This consisted of a large contingent of police
descending on various residents of the Woolshed Valley in search of the Kelly
Gang. It mattered not they were acting on stale information. However, the only
positive for the police was the encounter with Aaron Sherritt. The remains are
on private property.
of the BYRNE HOMESTEAD-
The Byrne Homestead in the Woolshed Valley was not only a destination in “The
Charge” but it was also kept under surveillance through-out the hunt by the
Police, closely supervised by Aaron so they didn’t get too close to the gang.
It is my belief Aaron Sherritt never had any intention of betraying them. He
just wasn’t smart enough to walk the tightrope required. Go past the Woolshed
Homestead holiday home and stop @ “Long Range track” sign. Walk along fence
which runs down to the creek. Cross over and walk 80 metres to another fence
line. Homestead stood in the paddock.
CATHOLIC CHURCH, ALBURY- After Joes death,
Margret Byrne and the family moved to Albury, N.S.W. Their house stood in Young
St. When Elly, Joes last surviving sister died, a church was built on a section
of the original property donated prior by Elly… “named, appropriately, St.
Josephs, in which innumerable prayers have been offered for the soul of Joe.”
(Ian Jones, 1992)
POLICE CAVES- WOOLSHED VALLEY-
Throughout the hunt, the police kept watch for Joe or the Kelly gang,
accompanied as always by Aaron Sherritt. Joe and the gang still came and went as
they wished. The first police cave overlooks the Woolshed Valley, near
Beechworth. The second cave overlooks the site of the Byrne homestead. In 1966,
Ian Jones turned up old bottles and tins, some with still visible labels, left
by the police in 1879 and 1880. They can be seen @ Ned:The Exhibition at the Old
ridges that define the Woolshed Valley are littered with giant granite boulders.
Some perch precariously on the slopes of the valley walls. One slight push, it
seems, would be enough to send them crashing to the valley floor. Others are
jumbled together, almost as if they had been grouped to provide a rudimentary
shelter. These would be dubbed “caves” and would be used by the police to
watch Mrs. Byrnes house.”
William Gouge rests in peace here. It was his funeral the Kelly Gang and
extended party drove past @ somewhat indecent haste in December 1878. Refer to
“Graves” section for more information.
of the NATIONAL BANK, EUROA-
Although the building is no longer standing, the site of the bank is on the
corner of Railway Tce. and Binney St. A modern office sits in its place. A
comemorative plaque is there for the tourist.
Except the bank and Euroa Hotel, the streetscape is very much as it was when the
Kellys called on that hot December day. The historic splendour has never left.
This hotel is in the earliest settled part of Euroa. The Kellys passed here
after they had robbed the National Bank. The hotel on the site now is not the
The station is within sight of National Bank location. There has been some
reconstruction but the railway yards and station are very much how Ned would
have seen them in 1878.
CREEK HOMESTEAD REMAINS-
This is the place the Kellys commandeered before they rode into Euroa to rob the
bank. From Euroa, head north on old Hume Highway and turn off @ Faithfull Creek
Rd. Go 800 metres to a gate. Get out of your car and walk approx. 700 metres to
the clump of trees by the creek. Homestead was destroyed in Black Friday
bushfires in 1939. A pile of brickwork marks the site. This is very close to
where the Kellys cut the telegraph lines. Railway line is readily apparent when
you enter vicinity. 2 large trees mark the site of the storeroom used as a
lock-up by the gang and guarded by Joe Byrne whilst Ned carried out the robbery.
It is a quiet, memory filled location.
The site of Davidsons “Woolpack” Inn, near Jerilderie was the meeting place
of the Kelly Gang before they proceeded into town and their second bank robbery.
It was here Joe Byrne practiced his liking of chatting up barmaids. Take the
Oaklands Rd. from Jerilderie for 1 km. Turn left @ Cape Rd. and travel 800
metres. The site is on the left.
OF N.S.W. SITE-
No longer standing, it was located next door to the Royal Mail Hotel, under the
MAIL HOTEL- Charles Cox’s
Royal Mail Hotel @ Jerilderie
was demolished in 1930 to make way for the current version which stands
in the Main St. (Newell Highway) The Kellys held their prisoners in Cox’s
hotel in 1879.
POST OFFICE- This
is the building Joe Byrne went to so as to sever communication with the outside
world. This original building stands in Powell St, next door to the
“Willows” Homestead and museum.
Contains the grave of William Elliott, schoolmaster @ the time of the Kelly
raid. The old school stood in Boulton St.
In Loch St, this well regarded regional museum existed in the days of the Kellys
and housed a suit of Chinese Armour which may have given Joe Byrne the idea for
armour worn @ Glenrowan. Today, the museum represents Beechworths involvement in
the Gold Rush, Robert O’ Hara Burke, who was a police officer prior to the
ill-fated interior expedition, and the Kellys. Ned Kelly and Burke dominate the
CHURCH, BEECHWORTH- Located
on the corner of Loch and Church St, this is where Aaron Sherritt reputedly went
to seek sanctuary, probably by now, in fear of his life. With the exception of
an additional stone fence, the church looks as it did in 1880.
of ANTON WICKS HOUSE-
Anton Wicks was used by Joe Byrne and Dan Kelly to lure Aaron Sherritt to the
door of his hut and his death. Follow the same directions as to the Byrne
Homestead. Keep going toward Eldorado for a further 2.3 kms. This will put you
in vicinity. Anton lies in Beechworth Cemetery. His grand-son, Bill Knowles, was
a well known Woolshed figure (and weather prophet) and identified many locations
for Kelly expert, Ian Jones.
SHERRITTS HUT, WOOLSHED VALLEY-
This is where Aaron, former friend of Joe Byrne, died. He had recently been
married to a local girl, Ellen Barry and they both lived in this small hut with
4 policemen, part of the Byrne house watch party. Over the previous months,
Aaron had become increasingly isolated from friends and family as he played his
strange game. There is still a strong anti- Sherritt feeling in the region and
signs marking his hut have been consistently removed. The hut stood in a large
clearing on the right, past the Woolshed Homestead Holiday Home.
Aaron lies in an unmarked grave in Beechworth cemetery.
the unmarked plot (Aarons) is being pointed out to visitors, not its exact
position, but as vaguely as memory and folklore denote: ‘just past the second
palm tree,’ says the bus commentator, ‘under some white stones.’ This
memory has not yet been allowed to become a monument.”
DERAILMENT SITE, GLENROWAN-
The bend in the line on the Wangaratta side of Glenrowan where the rails were
torn up was marked by a plaque for many years. It has since been stolen by
vandals. The site is approximately 800 metres from the Glenrowan station. A
double track now exists to accommodate heavier rail traffic.
GLENROWAN RAILWAY STATION-
The previously existing station has recently been removed to make way for an
authentic replica of the station as it was @ the time of the Glenrowan siege.
Courtesy of an organization known as the Glenrowan Improvers, it is a welcome
piece of work and may lead to further improvements in the vicinity. This is
where Ned lay wounded after his capture, before the gang were finally
of JONES INN-
Situated on the corner of Siege St. and Beaconsfield Parade, this is the place
where Joe Byrne, Dan Kelly and Steve Hart perished. The Inn was set ablaze by
the police, during which time Byrnes body was dragged clear. The charred remains
of Dan and Steve were removed when the heat from inferno had subsided. Recently,
a replica of the sign advertising “best accomodation” has been placed on the
‘We have to be wary of theme parks’ says historian Ian Jones. ‘You can
re-create the buildings but once you clog it up with souvenier shops you’ve
lost it again. We have to give people range for imagination- the chance to feel
the history- and not beat them over the head with shoddy reminders, like people
in bad trooper uniforms wandering around.’ ”
Patrick McDonnells Hotel was on the opposite side of the railway line to
Jones’s Inn. The gang stabled their horses here prior to the siege. Later, the
charred remains of Dan and Steve were loaded into coffins @ this site before
being taken to the Eleven Mile. Wallpaper remains and the back-door key can be
seen @ Ned: The Exhibition. The old wooden bar may be somewhere within Bob
Hempels animatronic Ned Kelly show in Gladstone St. The hotel stood in the
vacant block to the left of current Glenrowan Hotel.
The area between the Jones Inn site and Railway station has recently been
developed and beautified. As well as the reconstructed station, there are
painted bollards to represent police positions in front of the inn, the trench
that O’Connor and his Native Troopers took cover in is still there, now
boasting a small stone bridge. The tourist can get a panoramic view of The Last
Stand and siege site from the overpass. During earth moving works in 1997, a
small pistol was recovered. Gladstone St, now the main Glenrowan thoroughfare,
offers two museums, a “sound and light” show and several eating houses.
Considering the tourist interest, Glenrowan has remained a relatively quiet
town, even more so when the Hume Freeway by-passed the town in the late 80’s.
ARMS HOTEL, GLENROWAN-
The third Hotel in Glenrowan was away from the others and in the actual township
as it was back in 1880. Glenrowans first railway station was located here but
later moved due to steep track incline. Thomas Curnow, the Glenrowan
schoolmaster who thwarted the Kelly Gangs plans, lived in the vicinity. To find
site, go up Beaconsfield Parade toward Morgans Look-out and turn left @ the top
The Kelly Gang had been destroyed. Dan and Steves charred remains were prepared
for burial. Neds wounds were tended to amid high security and Joe Byrnes body
was propped up for show in Benalla and for photos. The door on which his body
hung against is apparently in the Benalla Pioneer museum. The cells themselves
no longer exist. The new Benalla Courthouse reside
s on the site today. Joe lies in the Benalla cemetery. Refer to “Graves”
s on the site today. Joe lies in the Benalla cemetery. Refer to “Graves” section.
This pub was built in 1873 and is situated on the corner of Mackeller and
Carrier Streets, opposite the railway station. It was here the body of Martin
Cheery was brought for inquest, a civilian casualty of the Siege of Glenrowan.
RAILWAY STATION- This
station was the fulcrum of the Kelly Hunt. Jesse Dowsett, the railway guard who
played a big part in Neds capture, lived near here. The wounded Ned was sent
from here down to Melbourne under heavy escort. The railway came to Benalla in
1873 and the present station was built in 1874.
RAILWAY STATION- The
station here is also of original construction and historic importance. It was
here that Sergeant Arthur Steele stood on that cold night in 1880 waiting for
the police train from Benalla. He walked down the line a way to listen out for
the engine and could very faintly hear the sound of gun fire from Glenrowan in
the cold, still air. Steele lived to a ripe old age, was a resident in Faithful
St. Wangaratta, grew prize winning geraniums and finally died in his sleep. He
is buried in the Wangaratta cemetery.
RAILWAY STATION- The
branch line to Beechworth was opened in 1876. Ned disembarked here with the
police to face his preliminary trial in Ford St. The rail was closed down in
1977 and the tracks torn up in the mid to late 80’s.
THE OLD MELBOURNE GAOL- This is the place where Ned Kelly spent his last days on earth. He had his last meal here of roast lamb, peas and a bottle of claret. On the 11th November, 1880, he stood on the gallows, pale, but composed. Some newspapers of the day reported his last words to be “Such is Life”. Today, only one cell block and the Franklin St. gates remain as a reminder of this gaols history. It doesn’t really matter though. To me, it will always be Neds place.
men with something in common that outweighed all else. Grief. And guilt. Each,
in his own way, had helped to shape the tragedy which destroyed
Joe and Aaron.
they parted, out in Camp St, late in the day, it was for the last time. They
parted friends, warmed by whisky and the memories of those long lost days, when
Joe and Aaron walked this street, turning heads, brothers to be proud of.”
name is Edward Kelly, I’m proudly living still. My soul is in the evening
breeze, the gum trees and the hills……….”