“Today at Eleven Mile creek, Greta West, there are no signs to lead the curious to the old house, where the incredible rampage began, where Ellen Kelly crashed the helmet over Constable Fitzpatricks head, where Ned is alleged to have shot him in the wrist. It is lovely rolling countryside with a great gum isolated here and there, galahs screeching like school girls up in the branches.”
HORSE and JOCKEY INN-
Allegedly, Ned stayed here when he took Wild Wrights horse, not knowing it was
stolen, “out for a spin”. The Hotel, in Wangaratta, was de-licensed in 1917
and has since been demolished. The El Portego Motel, on the corner of Warby and
Ryley St. is on the site today. Some historians have suggested Ned actually
stayed @ Peter Martins Star Hotel which was on the opposite corner.
This small structure stands in Arundel St. Benalla, diagonally opposite the red
brick courthouse. The scene is leafy and peaceful and it’s hard to imagine the
brawl Ned had with a substantial group of police, among them Fitzpatrick and
Lonigan. At the time being escorted to the courthouse, Ned indignantly got away
from his captors and sought sanctuary inside the shop. The bootmaker, Robert
John King, joined in and he and the police came off second best. Today, the
structure remains the same with the welcome return of the verandah which was
removed some years ago by the Benalla council. The building is now known for
“Kings Fine Wares”. It is near the corner of Bridge St., a few paces on from
the Dragon Inn chinese restaurant.
the Bootmakers shop brawl, Ned was fined in this building for being drunk and
disorderly, assaulting police and damaging Fitzpatricks uniform. He probably
rode away with a grim smile of satisfaction. It could have been a lot worse. The
courthouse was built in 1865 and was fully completed in 1889. Witness box can be
seen in Pioneer museum. Refer to Kelly Relics section.
this pub, in Bridge St. was the headquarters for the top-ranking officers
involved in the Kelly Outbreak. Francis Hare was here when advised of Aaron
Sherritts death and returned here with a wrist –wound sustained @ Glenrowan in
June 1880. The hotel was built in 1852, boomed in 1873 with the arrival of the
railway and became rich during the Kelly hunt. Marcus Craven was it’s first
publican and did not hesitate to charge high prices from the police double pay
Kellys and Quinns appeared here. Today a plaque notes the location on the corner
of Faithful and Murphy St. Wangaratta.
This magnificent, authentic building @ Tarrawingee may or may not have played
host to the Kelly Gang. The hotel dates back to 1864, is still licensed and is
classified by the National Trust.
GAOL BEECHWORTH- Standing
grimly @ the end of Ford St, this granite fortress is still a working prison and
is an important employer in Beechworth today. All of the gang, and others such
as Aaron Sherritt spent time within its walls. Construction of the gaol began in
1859 and replaced the primitive wooden huts on the same site. It was completed
in 1864 and took in both male and female prisoners. Neds most well known stay
was in October 1880. He resided here when he wasn’t in the courthouse a stones
throw away. Holding capacity was increased from 75 to 105 when additional cells
were constructed in 1958.
Byrne and Aaron Sherritt possibly met Ned and Dan here whilst co-incidentally,
Joe and Aaron were facing
charges the same day as Dan, under Neds watchful eye. Neds preliminary
trial took place here in October 1880. It was widely believed a jury could not
have been found to convict him in what was even then known as Kelly Country. It
was also here that Ellen Kelly/King and co. were sentenced after Fitzpatrick
This opulent Hotel in Ford St. retains it’s heydey splendour and serves a good
cold beer in the “Kelly Bar”.
one of several pubs in Beechworth, this one stands out. Thomas Tanswell re-built
in brick in 1869 and the building reached its present condition in about 1873.
The National Trust classified it in 1967. Local tradition insists Joe Byrne
frequented the back bar during the pursuit.
This is one of Victorias most significant historic cemeteries. It was
established in 1856, 4 years after gold was discovered in the region. The
extensive Chinese section contains approx. 1000 graves of chinese gold diggers
and settlers who once lived in the Woolshed Valley. Many of the Kelly story
participants also lie here. Anton Wick and his wife are here, as is Aaron
Sherritt. Dr.Dobbyn, the Doctor who attended @ Aarons death, and was involved
with Dan Morgan, bushranger, rests here, as does James Ingram, Beechworths
“grand old man”. The substantial cemetery gates were built in 1888. Refer to
“Graves” section for specific info. and grave locations.
“A stroll through the quiet serenity of the cemetery today provides an opportunity to reflect on the lives and times of those pioneers and residents of Beechworth who rest from their labours in this quiet place.”
HUT, BULLOCK CREEK-
Near the small township of Tolmie is the site of the hut on Bullock creek which
was a home of sorts for Ned, Dan and others after the Fitzpatrick affair. It is
only a very short distance from here to Stringybark creek. Ned, Dan, Joe and
Steve left here as boys and returned as murderers. “Across the rubicon.” The
remains of Neds whisky still pot, retrieved from this site can be seen @ Ned:
The Exhibition. On the Benalla Rd. from Tolmie, take the first left after
“Kelly Tree” turn off. The “road’ ends after a few kilometres. Site is
then approx. 20 metres to the right.
CREEK, THE KELLY TREE-
From the Benalla Rd, turn left @ road prior to Kellys Hut directions. A sign
should be in place directing the visitor to “The Kelly Tree”, a large tree
with the Kelly armour carved into the base. Inscription reads “Kelly shot
Lonigan 1878”. Over the years, the site has become less dense of bush and
scrub and accomodates the tourist with picnic tables. There has recently been a
memorial to the deceased policemen placed @ the site. Ian Jones, Kelly student
supreme, believes, among others the site of the Stringybark battle is not here
but some distance across the creek. Regardless, the vicinity is still
atmospheric in terms of helping conjure up images of the lonely camp in the
ranges in October 1878.
Also referred to as the “Kelly Memorial”, this magnificent monument sits in
the middle of Mansfield @ the cross roads of the Midland and Maroonda highways
and remembers Kennedy, Scanlon and Lonigan who lost their lives to “armed
criminals”. Like the police headstones in the cemetery, the Kellys are not
mentioned by name. The monument was erected in 1880 whilst the gang was still @
had an excellent reputation in Mansfield and monument is well maintained. continued