seems like a good place to start as Ned Kellys parents, John (Red) Kelly and
Ellen Quinn were married here on 18th November 1850 by Father Gerald
Ward. The church can be found on the corner of Elizabeth and Lonsdale St.
Melbourne. Weddings are no longer officiated here.
A stones throw from Parliament House in Spring St, this was the gathering place
of high society. Chief Commissioner of Police, Frederick Standish was amongst
them. In fact, it was virtually his home.
grim reminder of penal days now lies in pieces in Coburg, a suburb of Melbourne.
Several members of the Kelly family, including Ned himself, spent time here.
Pentridge ceased operating as a prison some years ago and is now known as
“Pentridge Village”- a housing estate. The main gates and fascade are
apparently going to remain, as will some sections of the perimetre fence due to
its historic importance. Ronald Ryan and possibly Ned, lie within the
boundaries. Some years ago, before demolition,
I spent an interesting, sombre day touring the facility. It was a unique
opportunity now gone.
of the Kelly Outbreak participants lie within cemetery walls. Redmond Barry is
here, along with Captain Standish, Superintendent Hare and Brooke-Smith. Burke
and Wills and survivor John King are here too for history buffs. Refer to
“Graves” section for more information. Tours can be arranged.
HOUSE @ BEVERIDGE-
This was the first house Edward Kelly, Ellens third child lived in.
The house is still standing (albeit tenuously) and is a testament to John Kellys
workmanship. Exits to Beveridge are well signposted on the freeway. Head down
Lithgow St. and follow the sign. The property can be seen from the road only.
Refer to McMenomys “Illustrated History” for a representation of original
The family of Ellen Kelly (Quinn) lived @ Merri creek, Wallan from 1850. Wallan
exit is well signposted but the house itself is on private property. Whittlesea
turn-off from Wallan and turning right toward Epping for 2 kms will put you in
the vicinity. The forge door, complete with a young Neds initials, can be seen @
Ned:The Exhibition @ the Old Melbourne Gaol.
In Sydney St. Kilmore, this pub was one of the drinking places of the Quinn
clan. This wonderful old building is covered in red paint with white edging. You
can’t miss it.
At the opposite end of Beveridge relative to Kelly house, Ned attended this
school between 1860-64. Travel south from the Post-Office for 100 metres, then
turn left. The church was completed in 1858. The building was lovingly restored
in the late 1980’s.
Lloyds and Quinns all made appearances here, the record holder being Jimmy
Quinn, a wild one and Neds uncle. The courthouse was built in 1861.
(Red) Kelly had a stint here before he died in December 1866.(Cause: Dropsy) The
building is classified by the National Trust and is in Sutherland St. Kilmore.
the cemetery fences lie John Kelly, Neds father and Richard Shelton, the boy
whom Ned saved from drowning. Head toward Ewings Rd. and Queen St. corner,
and ELLENS AVENEL PROPERTY-Land
is bordered by Vearings Rd, Ewings Rd, Ferguson and Hovell Streets, Avenel.
This historic stone bridge, listed by the National Trust is obsolete due to the
Hume Highway bypassing Avenel.
Annie, Ned, Maggie and possibly Jim attended this school. Although no longer
standing, it was in Shelton St. Avenel. School inspector Gilbert Brown tested
the Kelly children here before moving on north east to Wangaratta and the
Woolshed where Byrne and Hart were amongst the pupil listings.
outcrop of rock overlooking the lush King River valley, Powers Look-out offers
some spectacular views.
It is accessible from Mansfield and from the Moyhu direction. The place, near
where bushranger Harry Power, Neds tutor was captured, overlooks the site of
“Glenmore”, the home of the Quinns on the flats below.
“It’s grand to be on the ranges and to breathe the beautiful pure air and to see Mt. Feathertop far above ye, and, down below, for miles and miles, the beautiful country. There’s water all the year around and it’s always cool and pleasant. That’s the place for a man to live.”
Ned stood inside this building charged with highway robbery under arms in
connection with his time as Powers apprentice. Additions occurred to the
building in 1862 and has remained the same to this day. It can be found in
Hutton St. Kyneton.
substantial, two storey brick structure stood in Curlewis St. Greta. The hotel
was built in 1871. By 1922, only the chimney remained standing. Today, there is
barely a trace in what is now Greta West of the street as it was in the days of
the Kelly Outbreak. The hotel site is represented by a single, ground level
concrete tank. O’Briens was to the right of this tank. After the gang were
dead, the upper level of the hotel
became home to Robert Graham and his officers who wanted to show the
local population the law had returned in a firm, fair way. Graham went a long
way to quelling the unrest after Neds execution. The site of the hotel in Greta
West is opposite the site of the Greta Police station.
Today, only two red brick chimneys mark the site of the Kelly story heart on the
Eleven Mile creek. This is where it all began.
This is the place Constable Fitzpatrick came calling on that fateful afternoon
to arrest Dan Kelly. This is the incident that scarred lives and sent innocent
men to gaol. This is the place that has been slowly deteriorating over many
years and has been “picked clean like a cold chicken” by souvenier hunters.
For some, it is an emotional site to visit. Ellen returned here in 1881 after
her 3 year prison sentence in Melbourne and became a respected citizen. The site
can be seen from the road marked “Benalla via Kellys Gap.” as you leave
Greta West. The land is privately owned and the fence is electrified.
Unfortunately, the precaution is necessary. continued